Produce Insanity

Harry and I came off the river this morning in a light drizzle.  After stopping for coffee (I forgot to bring cream and honey to the island, so I had to have my fix the right way) and dropping off my boat, I headed out and started doing the big harvest for the Clay County Fair.

Open class entries are tonight, and it looks like I might have fifteen or twenty different items to put in.  So far I’ve got a couple kinds of sweet peppers, hot peppers, shallots, leeks, beets, carrots, several kinds of tomatoes, cukes, summer squash, okra, eggplant, and probably more that I’m forgetting.

The key to fair entries is to trim the veggies to their exact specifications, if any, and also to make sure if you have to display more than one of an item, that all of them are just about exactly the same size, length, breadth, etc.

You also have to consider how to fit all the veggies you have into the various categories–with several kinds of tomatoes and only two entries allowed in each lot, I’ll have to put one of the weirder varieties in the “novelty” category.  But you can also only put two entries into the novelty lot–so do I use the other spot for the purple carrots, or do I enter those in the carrot category and leave the novelty spot open for okra?

There’s also, thankfully, and “other than named” category, which will be a catch-all for the shallots and leeks.  Unless they have an “other than named” category under onions.  Except leeks and shallots aren’t really onions, so…?

With some crops, you have to harvest a number to make sure you’ll have 3 or 5 or however many they want that are the same size and shape.  So I spent a good amount of time digging potatoes to get just the perfect three of two different varieties, one of which is an heirloom, which also means I’ll have to fill out an extra 3×5 card describing its origins.

Oh, hey, that’s right–the leeks are an heirloom!  I wonder if the shallots are, too.  Back to the research….

Leave a Reply

