The Farmer joins the Gym

I am one of those people who does not generally enjoy exercise for exercise’s sake.  I’ll do hard physical labor, I’ll kick a soccer ball around or toss a football or frisbee–I’ll go for a walk to enjoy the fresh air and look around.

But as winter ramps up in Vermillion, outdoor play can get a little treacherous, nevermind cold.  It seems that after the first snow, the City of Vermillion assumes the sidewalks are closed for the year, and although the downtown merchants are pretty good at keeping their sidewalks clean, the rest of the town can make chiropractors a lot of money.

There’s that ever-present fear of putting my knee out on the ice, and there’s that ten pounds I should probably drop.  I was a little taken aback to step on the scale this morning and see that number.  The number approaching a weight I really should never weigh even if I am toting around a lot of muscle and very little fat.

And I have to face that even though I haven’t lost all that muscle built up over the farming season, that’s probably not the sole reason for my “inflated” poundage.  You don’t have to go back very far in my postings (oh, say, yesterday) to see how happily I was cutting large amounts of shortening into flour to make pie and quiche crusts.

So, off to the gym I went this morning to put in a couple miles on the treadmill–mostly walking, but with a few minutes of running interspersed here and there to get my heart rate up. I’m also planning on the Wednesday and Saturday yoga classes, which would do my stiff muscles and joints a lot of good.  Sitting around in front of a screen all day isn’t the best way to keep the body in good working order, I’ve noticed.

What would really make my heart go pitter-pat over joining the gym in the winter months is if it included a sauna.  The gym I belonged to during the winter in Wisconsin had one of those lovely hot boxes, and that steamy, cedar-smelling heat was one of the best cold combatants I’d ever had.

But overall, I’m pretty happy with the Heart & Soul set-up, and hopefully I’ll be able to get in a good routine there that will help keep me from bloating/atrophying over the winter months, so I’ll be in better shape overall, and especially for spring planting next year.

3 responses

  1. I used to have a membership at the Comfort Inn. The place is a little janky, but it does have a sauna, hot tub and heated pool. You might want to sneak in to the sauna 🙂 They wouldn’t notice 🙂

  2. I’m glad you mentioned the relative lack of snow removal on the sidewalks because I was starting to wonder if I was seeing things. Doesn’t the City fine people if they don’t remove their snow?

  3. Um, they sometimes fine landowners if it really piles up.

    I know when I taught on campus, the worst offender on my walking route was the Sigma Nu house on the corner of Main and Harvard. I could not understand how it was impossible for a house-full of strapping young men to hoist a few shovels.

    Last year, the ice problem was so bad from that first heavy storm we had that it was almost impossible to really clear the sidewalks all winter. There was so much ice, the salt wasn’t even really effective.

Leave a Reply

