It Came! It Came!

This morning while I was still sleeping, the doorbell rang.  I jumped out of bed, threw on my robe, and there at the door was the postman, who brought me two boxes–one with my Penzey’s Spices order, and the other with my 2009 Nikki McClure calendar.

nikki-mcclure-2009

My collection of Ms. McClure’s calendars started back in 2003/2004, when my dear friend in Seattle sent me the first (and in subsequent years sent me the second, third, fourth, and fifth).  I was fascinated by her wonderful images of people and animals, activities and gardens and the natural world, all painstakingly cut out of paper with an Exact-o knife.  There’s a word or two for each month as well–a kind of meditation.

nikki-mcclure-calendars

This one marks my sixth McClure calendar in a row, and over the last year I have started displaying them all, all year long, flipping over each one at the beginning of every month.  Today I’ll have to drive a new nail to accommodate the new addition to my collection, and at midnight, I’ll ceremonially flip all of them over to January.

And though it probably goes without saying, let me spread the link love for one of my favorite artists I don’t know, and say all the artistic works displayed in these images are by Olympia, Washington artist Nikki McClure, and her many works can be purchased in different formats through Buy Olympia(dot)com.

2 responses

  1. wonderful. i’m glad you’re keeping the tradition going. i just couldn’t resist giving you something unexpected this year. i’m in love with the “burning leaves” and so glad that you enjoy the “russian caravan”

    hmm. what’s the meditation word on mcClure’s jan 09?

    • FIX–with an image of a person wiring a rake head to a handle. Very nice! I’m glad of the gifts you gave me–I can order a McClure calendar, but your resin piece is one-of-a-kind! Thank you so much.

Leave a Reply

