Getting Back to Your Roots

The rainy morning called for a pot of soup. Today’s was to use up the six or seven organic Yukon Gold potatoes starting to sprout in the pantry. But what makes this soup really good is the base–a roasted root combo of onion, carrots, and parsnips seasoned so they’ll add flavor to the whole pot.

I chopped four carrots, three parsnips, and a yellow onion into chunks, and spiced them liberally with garlic, salt, pepper, nutmeg, cinnamon, and marjoram (be generous–the seasoning is for the whole soup). Then tossed them with olive oil, dotted with a little butter, and roasted at 350 degrees for about forty-five minutes–stirring occasionally until they were slightly caramelized.

In the meantime, I cut the bad and sprouting spots off the potatoes, cut them into small bit-sized chunks, and set them to simmer in water to cover (I did not peel them). I added a bay leaf and a Rapunzel vegan sea salt and herb bouillon cube (because they are so darn tasty).

Once the roasted veggies were done, I scraped them into the pot with the potatoes, and then rinsed the roasting pan, adding that liquid to the pot as well. I mashed the veggies a bit with a potato masher–just to give it a bit more of a creamy texture. Then, I added about 1/4 cup of cream and a little more nutmeg.

The spice blend given here is an adaptation of Penzey’s Russian Sausage or “Tsardust Memories” seasoning, and it is my best new friend for roasting veggies–especially parsnips and carrots.  I bet it would be awesome with celeriac, too, if I could get my hands on one.

2 responses

Leave a Reply

