Easter Bread and Easter Cabbage

I like Easter.  I don’t go for all the “He is Risen” stuff, but I do get my Spring Pagan thing on and revel in the blooming crocus, the sweet treats (I’m quite fond of a good hot cross bun), and the sprouting veggies.

This morning we went out to water the gardens (though we had to take in a little Futurama while the ice chunks in the hose thawed) and dig holes for the Easter cabbage.  With a nice bit of cloud cover coming in tonight, the temps will be high enough to leave the transplants out overnight, and tomorrow’s overcast is perfect for putting tender young plants in the ground.

We dug a couple rows–young master M did the counting while I dug 27 holes in the first tilled row and 17 and the second for a total of 44 cabbage transplant spots.  I’ve actually got about 72 plants, so I’ll have a few leftovers even after I bring a 6-pack to the couple that orders plants from me.

The holes are, as always, quite a bit bigger and more deeply worked than they need to be in order to encourage the plants to spread out their roots and grow nice-sized, firm heads.  This is a new variety for me this year, a pointy-headed one called Caraflex.

I’ve grown other pointy-headed spring cabbages in the past, and I like their smaller size and tender, thin leaves.  All the cabbages need to go under row cover to avoid flea beetle and cabbage moth attacks, so the plants go in a line down the center of the row so they can have lots of room for expansion under their cover.

Also on today’s to-do list is Russian Easter bread from Ellen Foscue Johnson’s The Bread Book: A Baker’s Almanac.  This is one of my favorite bread books.  It’s not that big, but it has some really great recipes and ideas for seasonal treats, and it’s ring-bound, so it’s easier to keep the book open to the page I’m working from.

The sponge for this bread is full of eggs and cream and honey, and my version will include dried minced orange peel soaked in whiskey, dried cherries, and slivered almonds.  I can barely wait to taste the finished product–it should be quite beautiful and incredibly tasty.

Leave a Reply

