Tulips, Daffodils, and Hyacinths, Oh My!

How about some spring images from the home gardens?

Hyacinth "Blue Jacket"

Hyacinth "Blue Jacket"

These babies are fragrant, indeed.  I’ve always avoided the fragrant hyacinths, not being a frilly sort of lady.  But the scent is so lovely…

Daffodils with dew

Daffodils with dew

Thought I got these daffodils from Breck’s, but no record.  So, they’re just “daffodils.”  I don’t think that makes them any less pretty.

Yellow tulips

Yellow tulips

These tulips have been in the ground for several years.  They didn’t start out all-yellow, but now they are.  I like yellow.  It’s happy!

elephant garlic

elephant garlic

Elephant garlic shoots are much more burly than regular garlic shoots–belying their close relation to leeks.  I’d worried their proximity to the edge of the raised bed might’ve winter-killed them, but they are all sprouting now.

French tarragon

French tarragon

I don’t use a lot of tarragon in my cooking, but when you need it, nothing else will do.

Checkered lily

Checkered lily

This is a new addition, along with the Blue Jacket hyacinths.  I’m pretty excited for it to bloom–it’s very wild and exotic-looking.  I have no idea where I planted the other ones.

Anise hyssop

Anise hyssop

This is one of my son’s favorite plants, so I try to keep a number of them around.  Licorice mint makes a great, mellow and sweet tea, and it does not invade like other “true” mints.  Its purple flower spikes are very attractive to bees and other native pollinators.

Vega-blossom

Vega-blossom

She’s guarding the tulips, I swear.

Wild columbine

Wild columbine

I have a ton of wild columbine in my yard and north garden.  I love its airy-stemmed, intricate blossoms.

Hellebore

Hellebore

This may be the only one of the three plants I got a few years ago that is still alive.  But this one looks healthy enough, and its blooms are lovely even though the whole plant is extremely poisonous.  I refresh my son’s memory about this every year, as he likes to graze on the edible flowers and plants in the gardens.

Miniature bleeding heart

Miniature bleeding heart

This is the parent plant that I transplanted from Marj’s garden after she passed.  I had a couple daughter plants from it that I moved a short distance away last season–no sign of them yet, but mama sure likes this corner spot in the north garden.

Leave a Reply

