Capitol Hill Seattle Stroll–A Photo Essay

Crow on street signsI miss crows.  Don’t see them often enough in South Dakota, for some reason.  So, I had to shoot (digitally, of course) this fine fellow, who appears to be looking for direction.

Dancing gate 2I’d planned to take an image of this beautiful metalwork gate–one of a few features I shot today that I filmed last I was here.  The sun used to have a light in it, I’m told, but it was broken when I saw it last.  It hasn’t been fully repaired, but the shards of the light’s covering have at least been removed.

North Hill BakeryWhere I’ve been eating my breakfast–North Hill Bakery has wonderful pastries and great coffee (even for Seattle). The urban cowboy is a recent fixture, who will occasionally sing a few tunes while sitting at one of the outdoor tables.  If you look closely, you can see me in the window, taking the image from across the street.

Cody's studio 1My friend Cody, who was gracious enough to open his studio and pose without looking posed after I knocked on his door this morning with camera in hand.

Favorite house 1My favorite house on 15th Avenue for its exuberant color and colorful gardens.  The apples on that tree look ripe!

Porch seatingRight next door to “favorite house” is another of my favorites–this is such a great little nook–hidden away amongst the cannas.

Stone lions 1I don’t think you have to be a Leo to appreicate how great these guys are.  The moss just makes them more stately.

Wall of lavender 1A very nice gentleman passerby warned me, as I had my face stuck full in this wall of lavender, that the bees are still out.  Yes, I saw them, but still couldn’t resist.

Rock garden texturesI love all the different textures created with succulents and evergreens and groundcovers in these rock gardens.

Green buildingI’ll bet this “green building” is amazing in the fall, when the Virginia creeper turns red.

Japanese maple 2I love all the different Japanese maples everywhere–very few are hardy in our South Dakota climate.

PathwayA really nicely composed pathway that leads from the sidewalk, around the front of the house, and to a partially opened side-gate leading to the backyard.  Like an invitation you don’t feel comfortable accepting, but are pleased to have had it extended to you, nontheless.

Sidewalk detailI love all the fun little details and surprises you encounter when walking around the District.

Purple accentThe way the blue of the house is accessorized by the purple foliage caught my eye.

Thyme lawnThis gardener is establishing a “lawn” of creeping and wooly thyme.  I’ll bet it smells lovely on the infrequent occasion it gets trod on.

Spiky treeI don’t know what these spiky trees are, but they are so foreign and exotic-looking to me.  Anyone care to identify?

Pink flower in mint 1I would also appreciate identification help with these dainty pink flowers I found growing in a little berm garden. They’re like butterflies hovering over the mint-blooms.

Lastly, a little more artwork–the mural at Walgreens that I see on my way to and from the bakery every morning.

Walgreen's mural

7 responses

  1. Holy crap! I know him! His sister Carla is one of Erin’s and my best friends! Carla was in our wedding! Carla has shown me his artwork — wonderful! Give him my best!

    South Dakota — two degrees of separation!

Leave a Reply

