Hot Wax and Squash Leftovers

Back from the farmers market with some left over produce.  What’s an intrepid farm girl to do?

Not one, but two food preservation preparation projects:

zucchini relish prepFirst item on the menu–finely chop fifteen cups yellow squash, six cups yellow onions, and several red and green sweet peppers, then salt down for making zucchini relish tomorrow.

While this may seem like a last-ditch effort to do something, anything with a large amount of leftover squash, I actually bought most of these squash from my friend and fellow market board member Amy.

You see, the other night, as H and I were dining on ham and sauteed vegetables, we finished a jar of relish.  I went to the pantry to pull out the absolute best condiment ever for ham, and realized we were on our last jar.  This, after having composted some of my own larger-than-I-like squashes (which are perfect for this recipe).

I’m sure Amy will be poking fun at me for quite awhile, after we’ve traded jokes about leaving squash on each other’s doorsteps and, “if a zucchini falls off a farmers market table and no one deigns to pick it up, is it squashed?”

I only ever make the “zucchini” relish from yellow squash because it’s prettier, and it really is pretty darn great with ham.  I also only make it every two or three years, so that’s why I didn’t think before I composted my own squash.  Oh, well.  Thank goodness for Amy and her prolific patch.

The other project was inspired by some college boy thrill-seekers (or should I say, “heat-seekers”?) at the market, plus a pile of leftover Hungarian Hot Wax peppers and a bag of heirloom sauce tomatoes.

These guys wanted something spicy–habaneros, of course, and weren’t interested in trying my salsa because I told them, quite honestly, that it’s not super-hot.  They settled, in the end, for a few raw Hot Wax peppers.

Well boys, I give you Hungarian Hot Sauce:

Hungarian hot sauceThis steamy pot contains several Hot Wax peppers (with seeds and cores intact for extra heat), plus the aforementioned tomatoes, four cloves of garlic, black pepper, and a small yellow onion.  I’ll run the cooked mixture through my strainer tomorrow and add vinegar for acid, salt for taste, then can.

I guess I should apologize in advance that this sauce probably won’t blast off anyone’s tastebuds entirely.  It’s designed, as is everything I make, to have some nice depth of flavor.  But don’t worry–it’ll deliver the spicy thrills as well.

Leave a Reply

