Spring and All

Spring is in full swing in the Southern Paradise of the Dakotas–the daffodils and tulips and hyacinths are blooming, the birds are mating and staking out territory, the neighborhoods are vibrant with folks walking their dogs, riding their bikes, and visiting with people whom they may not have seen since the snow started falling.

Our freezer was just recently stocked with over 100 lbs. of local pork, and we’re still trying to eat up the rest of what we put by last fall–stuffed peppers are in the oven for dinner, and I stocked to pantry again with canned goods that were getting low.

I still have a case and a half of tomato sauce left–not too shabby.  But we’re down to the last three quarts of tomato soup.  Salsa is holding up well, and peaches should last another month, maybe two.

Lots of crops coming up on the farm–including a few I didn’t plant.  I ate my first two spears of asparagus this morning raw right out of the patch.  The winery is having a local foods event this Sunday from 3-7, and while I’ll still be hoarding the asparagus at that point, I think I’ll be able to bring a cooler or two of wild edibles and perennial green onions.

Unfortunately, in the midst of all this excitement and with all the Earth Day events coming up, I managed to come down very suddenly with a very bad chest cold.  I’m treading on that thin line where visiting an actual doctor might be a decent idea.  No sense ending up with pneumonia the week before I do the DRA Evening of Green keynote.

And, of course, to go along with this tight-chested misery, it has been very warm and very windy–not great days for a person with respiratory distress to be out and about.  I’ve been running out to the farm early to give a cooling drink to the lettuces and other greens before the wind comes up.

Otherwise, most of my work has been inside, and I even managed to take a nap this afternoon (now you know I’m ill).

Uncharacteristically for this time of year, I’ve also been doing some reading.  My last book is one I plan on posting a commentary of here in the next few days if I’m up to it–The Town that Food Saved by Ben Hewitt.  If you like local food lit, this is a really great addition to that genre and a worthwhile read.

Next on the list (just arrived in the mail today) is one recommended to me by a friend while we were on our most recent road trip to Pierre.  It’s called Radical Homemakers: Reclaiming Domesticity from a Consumer Culture.  Author Shannon Hayes has obviously done quite a bit of research–this isn’t fluff-lit.

With all the events I’ve got scheduled for this week and next, I”m starting to panic a little about being so sick.

Of course, panic is the last thing that’s going to help me get better in short order, so I’ve also been quickly using up the last of my garlic stash, flaked hot peppers (I need to grind more), and horseradish, slowly moving about the house getting small things done, and getting to bed as early as my internal clock will allow.

Earth Day, here I come!

Leave a Reply

