How Does this Happen?

I’m just innocently walking into Jones’ Food Center to pick up a couple of things, and I see this sign on the door that says, “All Greenhouse Live Goods 50% off.”

Well, I say to myself, I’ll just stroll over and see what they’ve got left over. No big deal. No pressing needs.  I’ll be immune, I thought.

Yeah, right.

The truth is, the only time I’m immune is when the plants are looking their prettiest and freshest–and they’re also full price.  When they’re a little crispy around the edges and looking sad and worn, my heart goes out to them, and they come home with me.

I ended up with five half-price perennials: a purple scabiosa (pincushion flower), a purple aster, a pulmonaria (lungwort), a stiff-leafed coriopsis, and a compact bee balm.

The aster and the pulmonaria (Mrs. Moon) are replacements, I guess.  I rescued another aster last fall, and it seemed to be doing OK in the south side garden, but now I can’t seem to find it.  It might still be there–under the crazed honeysuckle vine and the rampant Shasta daisies.

I used to have a few Mrs. Moons in the north side garden, but they seem to have been eaten up by the columbines and ferns.  This time, I’ll put her where she can really glow–in the little shady corner by the chimney nearest the back door–where my miniature pink bleeding heart succumbed to the painters’  footsteps last summer.

That whole garden needs to be dug up and re-planted–it looks great and wild (I like wild) and healthy now, but it’s also getting really overgrown and choked.

Right now, the garden contains hollyhocks, spotted dead nettle, perennial vinca, rue, ferns of an unknown name, wild and yellow columbine and their various offspring, cilantro, kale, black cohosh, blue mist shrub, and garlic.

Also, there’s ornamental alliums, grape hyacinth, crocus, tulips, daylilies and a few other lilies of unknown origin, daffodils, anise hyssop, Johnny Jump-ups, hellebores, dill, and a couple more plants I can’t remember the names of at all or that I think might be in there but can’t find at present.

I built this garden the year after we moved in this house–this area was all lawn then.  It has had lots of plants added, but very few taken out (except those !@#$% orange daylilies that keep coming back). The main part of the blue mist shrub is dead and still sitting there, but a side branch rooted and is growing nicely.

The over-arching idea of this garden is cool colors–whites, purples, and blues–with small splashes of soft yellow for accent and lots of cool green foliage–so the orange daylilies are messing up my color scheme.

Their roots are hard to distinguish from the purple-and-yellow daylilies that grow alongside, so I’m going to have to tag the orange ones (again) this season when they bloom.  And not forget why the tags are there and pull them out, thinking they’re a bit of trash that blew in there.

So, this fall, my idea of a fun project is to dig out just about everything in there, loosen the soil a bit, and re-plant–either giving away, moving, or composting the extra plants.

Anyone want some orange daylilies?

2 responses

Leave a Reply

