High Fashion on the Prairie (& Today's Harvest)

It’s going to be a great delivery for CSA members today, though I’m not sure how it’s all going to fit in the bags.

I’ve got Russian Banana fingerling potatoes, eggplant, summer squash, spaghetti squash, cucumbers, tomatoes, and sweet peppers.  I was going to put shallots in, too, but I don’t think there’ll be room.

The weather was pretty pleasant for harvest today, but the new mosquito hatch made it necessary to “suit up” in the usual fashion.  It was only once the truck was loaded and we (Vega and I) were headed back into town that the sky opened up and granted our latest downpour.

So, everything got a nice rinse–including me.  At least my hair will be softer for it!

I think since they won’t really fit in the bags today (and I won’t be at farmers market this week), I’m going to pull out the dehydrator and fill it full of cherry tomatoes.

I’ve been looking forward to doing them in the 9-tray Excaliber I bought this year instead of two trays at a time in the old heat-coil dehydrators that took forever and half-dried some while burning others unless I rotated trays constantly.

The Sun Golds are particularly good dried–fruity and like pretty orange “candy.”  It’s tedious work to split and squeeze the seeds out of each one, but they are really nice to have on hand in the winter months.

Leave a Reply

