Packing up the Kitchen

Besides the dehydrator (which is full of tomatoes and will later be full of squash) and a knife, cutting board, and roasting pan (for roasting and freezing a few last batches of summer veggies harvested yesterday), I am packing up the kitchen today.

Last ditch harvesting

I’m really glad I saved all the big appliance boxes that I did–the big crockpot went right back in its original packaging and the dehydrator (once it has done its final Vermillion duties) can do the same.  The pressure canner has always lived in its original box–it just needed a little taping to be ready for the journey.

Last ditch processing

So far, most of the baking pans are in a sturdy box–the frying pans, cast iron, smaller sauce pots, and lids are all packed up as well.  Canning jar rings, lids, funnel, and jar lifter are all nestled in the boiling water water canner, whose lid has been bungeed on.

I never did get all those jars filled–along about Saturday, when I was recuperating from Friday night’s going away party and some neck and back pain as well (which I am doing stretches to help), it occurred to me that maybe I could just call it good.

The jars can be filled or not–depending on how many extras I have, maybe I will even donate a case or two to the Civ (without their boxes, which I’ll use to house the canned goods still in the pantry).

Fall allergies and abandonment fears

Not everything will be boxed and ready to go tomorrow morning when I pick up the moving truck, but hopefully clearing out the stuff that is packed will make it easier to account for and pack up what’s left.

I have mostly been relocating all packed boxes to the living room, so they can quickly and easily head out the front door, but it’s starting to get tight in there. Once the TV (which is going back to H) is gone, that will free up more room for more boxes.  If I do have a TV in Minnesota, it’ll have to be one I find there!

The chest freezer is (finally) scheduled for clean-out today as well–there is a waiting freezer at the farm to contain all that pork and maybe a chicken or two as well.  I will probably have to come back for my big package of yet-to-be refined lard–I don’t think it’s going to fit in the combined fridge-freezer in Minnesota.

All the details!  I’ve ground enough coffee to hopefully last us most of the rest of the week, so the bag of beans and the grinder can be packed away without fear of a desperate box-rummaging–though maybe I should grind just a little more to help caffeinate anyone who comes to help tomorrow.

And yes–if you were wondering if I’d like some extra hands to load the truck or pack boxes tomorrow–please feel free to drop by!  Free coffee!  Free bouquets!

End of summer flowers

4 responses

    • No kidding! I’m worn out, and there’s still so much to do. Looking forward to relaxing by the lake for a few days–puttering, putting things away, and getting my head in the local foods organizing space.

Leave a Reply

