The Perfect Platform

Whenever I don’t know what to make for supper out of all the little bits and pieces of things sitting in the fridge, and I don’t feel like thawing something new from the freezer, I throw some dough together and make a pizza.

The dough is a simple cup of water, white and wheat flour, honey, salt, and olive oil mixture.  I substitute a little beer for the water if I happen to have one open or some left in the fridge from the night before.

Lately, I’ve been using the gas fireplace in the basement for raising dough and melting butter.  It’s already hot–might as well just use that energy for warming other things besides my toesies.  The extra warmth really makes the yeast happy and active.  And it can’t hurt my own health to run up and down the stairs a few more times a day.

Tonight’s pizza toppings are some locally-made potato sausage I had left over–skinned and chopped–plus red onion that needed eating, and some goat milk feta from Bowlus, MN.  The sauce is most of a pint of home-canned tomato sauce cooked down with various spices.  I sprinkled a little dried green onion over the top to make it look a bit fresher.

The nice thing about making pizza at home is that you can put just about anything on it, and it’ll be good.  That makes it the perfect platform for leftovers.

You don’t even have to tip the delivery dude.  But feel free to tip the cook!

Leave a Reply

