Happy Mother’s Day!

Unfortunately, my darling boy is down in Texas this week, so I am making do on Mother’s Day with the dog for company. I adopted her from the Humane Society seven years ago on Mother’s Day, and she has been my constant, for-the-most-part faithful companion ever since.

I’d planned on a woodland adventure with the dog today, but save a bit of sun around 8am, we’ve had a series of thunderstorms rolling through all morning.  If it clears out a little this afternoon, we’ll go back to that plan, but for now we’re just cozied up in the house.

The farm journal needs updating, and a plan created for what seeds and plants go where (and when).  I’ve still got a large part of this 50lb. bag of sweet onions acting as a doorstop around the kitchen, so I’m going to do my take on the Fields of Greens recipe for balsamic roasted red onions and maybe get six more of those 2lb.-plus honkers into a delicious and easy-to-use form.

I also headed out to feed the horde of cats belonging to some farm friends, and on the way back stopped at Bonnie’s Hometown Grocery here in Clinton.  I swear I just stopped to pick up a bag of dog food, but I also got a little tub of Olsen pickled herring for myself and then somehow managed to be drawn into the greenhouses and succumbed to a flat of flowers for the front beds and window box–verbena, petunias, heliotrope, salvia, lobelia.

I’m planting petunias this year for this first time in my life.  Admittedly, I always cast aspersions on the delicate trumpets–calling them “white trash” or “floozy” flowers.  How this idea got in my head, I don’t know, but I’ll take my lumps, apologize profusely for my snobbery, and put in two kinds–a “blackberry splash” with tiny trumpets, and a slightly larger lavender variety with dark purple veining in the throat.

But, I remain somewhat of a floral elitist.  I used to refer to a neighbor’s bed of super-frilly irises as his garden of “madams and whores.”  Not to his face, of course.  Feel free to castigate me in the comments.

And, hey!  While in Bonnie’s, I found out that Jan Eifealdt of Sunrise View Farms brought in her first fresh, local produce delivery last week–lettuce, spinach, radishes, and onions from her high tunnel.  Why did I not know this?  Because it sold out in the blink of an eye.

Of course it did!  Last night’s dandelion greens supper was pretty good, but if I had a bag of spinach or a bunch of radishes, I’d be an even happier camper.  Luckily, Bonnie is thinking of doing text message alerts for the next round.  You might want to get on that list–but I warn you: I can get to that store in about two minutes flat.  Thirty seconds if I know there’s fresh, local food!

Despite the rain, it’ll be a good day.  I beat my brother at being the first to call mom this morning (before either of us had our first cup of coffee–a somewhat bleary conversation), and if I don’t hear from M first, I’ll call him later in the afternoon.  ‘Til then–roasting onions, eating herring, and planning gardens.  Not bad for a stormy Mother’s Day!

Leave a Reply

