Food Preservation Mania

We’ve been hard at work out at the farm in Twin Brooks.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Brandied peaches, salsa, roasted summer veggies, dried tomatoes, tomato sauce, cucumber pickles, pickled beets, and frozen green beans are some of the projects we’ve undertaken in the past week.

As a result of all this work, I’ve been pretty negligent in my blogging.

The update is simply this: I’m still cleaning up from the house fire; I’m still looking for a place to live; I’m still trying to preserve a little something from the gardens every day or two.

And I’m very happy to be where I’m at right now!

3 responses

  1. Not to rain on your parade or anything, but I think the challenges you’ve been facing speak to the possibility that perhaps Vermillion was a better place for you to live. In fact, Vermillion is missing you tons.

  2. I disagree, you made the right decision to move up here to Big Stone Lake! And I’m not at all biased by the fact that I live up here too!

    What is in the plastic bags? Roasted veges? How do you prepare them, and how do you use them later? I’ve never done roasted veges before.

  3. The plastic bags are roasted summer veggies–I chop peppers, tomatoes, eggplant, and summer squash, then dress them with a little olive oil, roast, then package when they’re cool. It’s a really nice product to have on hand for pizza, pasta, casserole, and other winter dishes.

    About the other thing: I don’t see myself moving back to Vermillion–that town can make it just fine without me. So could Big Stone County and NE SD, I’m sure, but for now my path is here working with farmers and helping build markets and regional aggregation systems. I had plenty of challenges in Verm as well, but those were more about problems with the entrenched systems and overly comfortable powers-that-be–and those challenges are harder to overcome than a little ol’ house fire. Big Stone County and NE SD have been exceedingly welcoming and supportive of my work–that’s a blessing and a relief!

Leave a Reply

